Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Star Diner. We'd love to have your feedback!

Marshall, NC

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Star Diner and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Tsksdg 1 day ago

Pork Tenderloin Stroganoff

We have eaten here many times and love every dish. I had the most amazing beef stroganoff dinner Friday night. My mouth is even watering as I write this review. 😁

Diane 20 days ago

Spice Crusted Sea Bass

Wonderful. Nice crust. Delicious. Nice portion size. Accompanying risotto and sides of leeks and asparagus were terrific as well.

Danniecook 24 days ago

Almond Crusted Fried Brie

The Almond Crusted Fried Brie was a delight and the salad and croutons with it were very fresh. Great choice and I highly recommend it.

Diane And Jim 25 days ago

Crispy Fried Brussels Sprouts

My go-to favorite here! Many restaurant serve brussels sprouts, but few and far between serve up a dish this wonderful! Crispy, flavorful, a real treat

Diane And Jim 25 days ago

Pineapple Upsidedown Cake

Almost as good as my grandma's! Moist, flavorful, and delicious.

Sandra about 1 month ago

Fried Oysters Rockefeller

I start craving this each week on Monday.

David 4 months ago

Jumbo Lump Crab Cake

Marvellous fresh flavor! Cooked to perfection, and always my first course.

Susan 4 months ago

Almond Crusted Fried Brie

I always get the Almond Crusted Fried Brie Salad, always the best, fresh and beyond yummy! Thanks Star Diner for amazing food!

Sean 4 months ago

Star Tenderloin Meatloaf

This is hands down the best meatloaf I have ever had. Meatloaf has not exactly been my go-to choice in the past but this experience may have changed that. Thanks!

Ricky 5 months ago

Jumbo Lump Crab Cake

Fantastic tasting and stayed warm and tasty for car ride back to Asheville! So love everything about this place!!

Joey 6 months ago

Jumbo Lump Crab Cake

Absolutely the best crab cakes I've ever eaten. My wife and I have dined here several times, and I can say with all truth that I have had two of the best meals I have ever eaten in this restaurant. Kate is super accommodating to any customer needs, and they even served a pizza with a basil dipping sauce that my two year old would eat when we came in for lunch. We love this place and highly recommend it!

David 6 months ago

Beef Tenderloin* - Aged Center-Cut

The menu is all good! Crab cakes, brussel sprouts, fried brie, almond crusted trout, and on and on! Our uncontested No. ! restaurant in WNC. Talented and Kate and the wait staff are always delightful and pleasant.

Frances 6 months ago

Shrimp & Grits

Having grown up in Ala, I was shocked that grits could be the star of the dish. So creamy & tasty. Looking forward to my next visit to Star Diner.

Chad 6 months ago

Sodas

Wonderful people. Wonderful food. 10/10 would recommend to everyone.

Susan 6 months ago

Crispy Fried Brussels Sprouts

The. Best. Food. Ever. I could rave about the crabcakes, so full of crab, or the saltimbocca, perfectly done, but what I dream of first is the brussel sprouts. All the rage in restaurants, these are absolutely the best. Perfectly cooked crisp, just the right amount of bacon and heat, these take the prize. Perfectly matched with any entree. Go get 'em.

Jbpcoupons 6 months ago

Almond Crusted Fried Brie

One of the best things I've ever eaten. The Brie is amazing and so well prepared. The pickled onions, something I don't normally like, are absolutely delicious. I would eat this every day if I could!

Fabulousfrock 6 months ago

Fried Chicken Saltimbocca

This is both of our favorites! It's a great combination and very indulgent and rich tasting! I feel like I don't have to eat for a week by the time I'm done but then I'm craving it again in no time.

Carol 6 months ago

Fried Chicken Saltimbocca

We celebrated our anniversary with the Star Diner. We ordered appetizers, salad, entrees and dessert. Everything was amazing and cooked to perfection. I had the Fried Chicken Saltimbocca and my husband had the steak. We will definitely be back!

Nibert1809 9 days ago

Spice Crusted Sea Bass

Stayed at Marshall House bed and breakfast and Star Diner was recommended by hosts! Were we ever surprised to find this restaurant in this tiny town! One of the top 5 meals ever eaten for sure! Pure perfection! The curry crusted sea bass was truly cooked to perfection and the creamy risotto was the best ever - Vegetables tasted like they were just plucked from someone's back yard and the presentation was a beautiful work of art! Was worth the trip just to have this meal! You must eat there!!

Rob 20 days ago

16 oz. Veal Chop Parmesan

Fantastic. Simple but delicious tomato sauce. Veal chop was scrumptious. I usually don't like angel hair pasta or primavera sauce but both were terrific.

Danniecook 24 days ago

Prime Rib of Beef Au Jus

Perfection! The prime rib was just wonderful. It melted in my mouth and I enjoyed it so much I will order it again.

Diane And Jim 25 days ago

Lobster Fettuccine

This pasta and seafood dish was wonderful! Healthy serving, too! The seafood and the pasta were cooked perfectly, and the seasonings were exactly right. A dish cooked with love!

Sue 29 days ago

Flatbread Pizza

Everything was some of the best food we've ever had. Completely delicious and would not change a thing. For us, an entree and a small plate were enough for two to share. Can't wait for indoor dining.

Hasams about 2 months ago

Fried Chicken Saltimbocca

It was a fantastic take on fried chicken. I also loved the name

Danniecook 4 months ago

Almond-Crusted Mountain Trout

I can't think of a nicer way to celebrate our new deck and Jill's birthday than to share dinners from Star Diner. It was a wonderful evening and everything was perfect!

Barbara 4 months ago

Almond-Crusted Mountain Trout

The trout entree with almonds is my "go to" favorite meal! I also love the mashed potatoes, asparagus and tomatoes that accompany it. Thanks very much for keeping it on the menu as a local mountain standard!

Susan 5 months ago

Crispy Fried Oysters

Perfect Oysters, Perfect creamed spinach bed for the Oysters, Perfect Chef and Perfect service. Yea Star Diner, Chef Brian and Kate, once again.

Dana 5 months ago

Beef Tenderloin* - Aged Center-Cut

Amazing as usual! Thank you! Everyone's food was perfect!

Joy 6 months ago

Lobster Fettucine

This dish is hands down .... completely amazing‼️ The flavor is perfect... slight spice with delicious seafood medley. You will not be disappointed.... I promise 😋

Rob 6 months ago

Scottish Salmon Oscar

Fabulous coating on the salmon. Crab cake was terrific.

Susan 6 months ago

Crispy Fried Brussels Sprouts

The Brussel sprouts were delicious! Thanks you!

Sew235 6 months ago

Chardonnay, Route Stock, 2017

Delicious!

Dkjer62 6 months ago

Shrimp & Grits

Best shrimp and grits in the Southeast! Like no other that I have tried. I especially liked the added spice and heat. Outstanding food and service. Will definitely dine again at the "Star".

Susan 6 months ago

Lobster Fettuccine

I've had this many times, best dinner ever! In fact everything at Star is amazing-you can't go wrong! One of my other favorites is the Meatloaf and Brussels Sprouts and EVERYTHING!!

Myncmountain 6 months ago

Shrimp & Grit Cakes

While I have several "favorites" off the menu, this is my absolute favorite. It has a beautiful combination of spicy (but not TOO spicy) and smooth. It just sits well on the tongue!

Stoler 6 months ago

Jumbo Lump Crab Cake

My family has actually eaten MANY of the dishes at Star Diner and they are all WONDERFUL! Gourmet nourishment for the body & soul. Big City quality in a small town. Highly recommend! Thanks for the deliciousness, Stephanie and Patrick



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA