Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Star Diner. We'd love to have your feedback!

Marshall, NC

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Star Diner and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Blanca 5 days ago

Lobster Fettuccine

The Lobster Fettuccine was delicious. The sauce was flavorful, the pasta was cooked just right, and the lobster made it a perfect combination.

Suemeak 20 days ago

Scallops & Grits

This dinner was a combination of the scallops and shrimp which was cooked to perfection. The staff was friendly and knew the menu well. The setting is fun and comfortable. We left happy and well fed.

Victor about 1 month ago

Fried Chicken Saltimbocca

Perfect brunch item pared with lobster bisque soup and of course a mimosa. The chicken was amazingly moist topped with provolone with the mashed potatoes/gravy creating a nice balance. Will definitely have again.

Tsksdg about 1 month ago

Braised Lamb Stroganoff

We have eaten here many times and love every dish. I had the most amazing beef stroganoff dinner Friday night. My mouth is even watering as I write this review. 😁

Diane about 2 months ago

Spice Crusted Sea Bass

Wonderful. Nice crust. Delicious. Nice portion size. Accompanying risotto and sides of leeks and asparagus were terrific as well.

Danniecook 2 months ago

Almond Crusted Fried Brie

The Almond Crusted Fried Brie was a delight and the salad and croutons with it were very fresh. Great choice and I highly recommend it.

Diane And Jim 2 months ago

Crispy Fried Brussels Sprouts

My go-to favorite here! Many restaurant serve brussels sprouts, but few and far between serve up a dish this wonderful! Crispy, flavorful, a real treat

Diane And Jim 2 months ago

Pineapple Upsidedown Cake

Almost as good as my grandma's! Moist, flavorful, and delicious.

Sandra 2 months ago

Fried Oysters Rockefeller

I start craving this each week on Monday.

David 5 months ago

Jumbo Lump Crab Cake

Marvellous fresh flavor! Cooked to perfection, and always my first course.

Susan 5 months ago

Almond Crusted Fried Brie

I always get the Almond Crusted Fried Brie Salad, always the best, fresh and beyond yummy! Thanks Star Diner for amazing food!

Sean 6 months ago

Star Tenderloin Meatloaf

This is hands down the best meatloaf I have ever had. Meatloaf has not exactly been my go-to choice in the past but this experience may have changed that. Thanks!

Ricky 6 months ago

Jumbo Lump Crab Cake

Fantastic tasting and stayed warm and tasty for car ride back to Asheville! So love everything about this place!!

Joey 7 months ago

Jumbo Lump Crab Cake

Absolutely the best crab cakes I've ever eaten. My wife and I have dined here several times, and I can say with all truth that I have had two of the best meals I have ever eaten in this restaurant. Kate is super accommodating to any customer needs, and they even served a pizza with a basil dipping sauce that my two year old would eat when we came in for lunch. We love this place and highly recommend it!

David 7 months ago

Beef Tenderloin* - Aged Center-Cut

The menu is all good! Crab cakes, brussel sprouts, fried brie, almond crusted trout, and on and on! Our uncontested No. ! restaurant in WNC. Talented and Kate and the wait staff are always delightful and pleasant.

Frances 7 months ago

Shrimp & Grits

Having grown up in Ala, I was shocked that grits could be the star of the dish. So creamy & tasty. Looking forward to my next visit to Star Diner.

Chad 7 months ago

Sodas

Wonderful people. Wonderful food. 10/10 would recommend to everyone.

Susan 7 months ago

Crispy Fried Brussels Sprouts

The. Best. Food. Ever. I could rave about the crabcakes, so full of crab, or the saltimbocca, perfectly done, but what I dream of first is the brussel sprouts. All the rage in restaurants, these are absolutely the best. Perfectly cooked crisp, just the right amount of bacon and heat, these take the prize. Perfectly matched with any entree. Go get 'em.

Jbpcoupons 7 months ago

Almond Crusted Fried Brie

One of the best things I've ever eaten. The Brie is amazing and so well prepared. The pickled onions, something I don't normally like, are absolutely delicious. I would eat this every day if I could!

Fabulousfrock 7 months ago

Fried Chicken Saltimbocca

This is both of our favorites! It's a great combination and very indulgent and rich tasting! I feel like I don't have to eat for a week by the time I'm done but then I'm craving it again in no time.

Hello 7 days ago

Crab Cakes & Eggs

We've eaten here many times! It is SO good!! Just made brunch reservation for this Sunday! We did Oktoberfest the first visit- I did the full German platter. All so good! The other standout that night was the pate'! Since then we've had the crab cakes- lobster fettuccine- oysters- and pretty much the whole menu. And it is all delicious 😋.

Soldoutdoulos about 1 month ago

Almond-Crusted Mountain Trout

Ridiculously good. The trout was cooked perfectly with a little crispy on the edges. The potatoes were so creamy and the asparagus was also done perfectly. Such a beautiful dish as well. Presentation on point!

Victor about 1 month ago

Southern Fried Chicken Saltimbocca

Had this last Sunday for brunch and was amazing. Just stopped in by chance and was pleasantly surprised. Pared with the Lobster Bisque.

Nibert1809 about 2 months ago

Spice Crusted Sea Bass

Stayed at Marshall House bed and breakfast and Star Diner was recommended by hosts! Were we ever surprised to find this restaurant in this tiny town! One of the top 5 meals ever eaten for sure! Pure perfection! The curry crusted sea bass was truly cooked to perfection and the creamy risotto was the best ever - Vegetables tasted like they were just plucked from someone's back yard and the presentation was a beautiful work of art! Was worth the trip just to have this meal! You must eat there!!

Rob about 2 months ago

16 oz. Veal Chop Parmesan

Fantastic. Simple but delicious tomato sauce. Veal chop was scrumptious. I usually don't like angel hair pasta or primavera sauce but both were terrific.

Danniecook 2 months ago

Prime Rib of Beef Au Jus

Perfection! The prime rib was just wonderful. It melted in my mouth and I enjoyed it so much I will order it again.

Diane And Jim 2 months ago

Lobster Fettuccine

This pasta and seafood dish was wonderful! Healthy serving, too! The seafood and the pasta were cooked perfectly, and the seasonings were exactly right. A dish cooked with love!

Sue 2 months ago

Flatbread Pizza

Everything was some of the best food we've ever had. Completely delicious and would not change a thing. For us, an entree and a small plate were enough for two to share. Can't wait for indoor dining.

Hasams 3 months ago

Fried Chicken Saltimbocca

It was a fantastic take on fried chicken. I also loved the name

Danniecook 5 months ago

Almond-Crusted Mountain Trout

I can't think of a nicer way to celebrate our new deck and Jill's birthday than to share dinners from Star Diner. It was a wonderful evening and everything was perfect!

Barbara 6 months ago

Almond-Crusted Mountain Trout

The trout entree with almonds is my "go to" favorite meal! I also love the mashed potatoes, asparagus and tomatoes that accompany it. Thanks very much for keeping it on the menu as a local mountain standard!

Susan 6 months ago

Crispy Fried Oysters

Perfect Oysters, Perfect creamed spinach bed for the Oysters, Perfect Chef and Perfect service. Yea Star Diner, Chef Brian and Kate, once again.

Dana 6 months ago

Beef Tenderloin* - Aged Center-Cut

Amazing as usual! Thank you! Everyone's food was perfect!

Joy 7 months ago

Lobster Fettucine

This dish is hands down .... completely amazing‼️ The flavor is perfect... slight spice with delicious seafood medley. You will not be disappointed.... I promise 😋

Rob 7 months ago

Scottish Salmon Oscar

Fabulous coating on the salmon. Crab cake was terrific.

Susan 7 months ago

Crispy Fried Brussels Sprouts

The Brussel sprouts were delicious! Thanks you!

Sew235 7 months ago

Chardonnay, Route Stock, 2017

Delicious!

Dkjer62 7 months ago

Shrimp & Grits

Best shrimp and grits in the Southeast! Like no other that I have tried. I especially liked the added spice and heat. Outstanding food and service. Will definitely dine again at the "Star".

Susan 7 months ago

Lobster Fettuccine

I've had this many times, best dinner ever! In fact everything at Star is amazing-you can't go wrong! One of my other favorites is the Meatloaf and Brussels Sprouts and EVERYTHING!!

Myncmountain 7 months ago

Shrimp & Grit Cakes

While I have several "favorites" off the menu, this is my absolute favorite. It has a beautiful combination of spicy (but not TOO spicy) and smooth. It just sits well on the tongue!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA